Dutch Postcode Lottery’s Green Challenge €500,000

The Dutch Postcode Lottery’s Green Challenge: Save the Planet and Win €500,000

The Global Development Network’s (GDN) innovative scheme, the Global Development Awards and Medals Competition supported by the Ministry of Finance, Government of Japan and other donors has awarded roughly US $2.2 million in research and travel grants to finalists and winners. It is currently accepting applications for the Japanese Award for Most Innovative Development Project (MIDP).

The Japanese Award for Most Innovative Development Project (MIDP) is a competitive grant program that provides development practitioners the opportunity to compete for grants worth US$ 30,000 to help scale up their innovative project*. The grants are awarded to projects and/or organizations that are carrying out original and path-breaking work in the development field and meet certain set criteria (see below). These projects are not theme based. However, the projects need to contribute to sustainable development.

First Prize: US$ 30,000; Second Prize: US$ 5,000

*The first prize winner is also eligible to compete under the Japan Social Development Fund for an additional grant of up to US$ 200,000 for their work.

The winning project receives a grant of US$ 30,000, travel and other related expenses to GDN’s 13th Annual Global Development Conference1 in June 2012. The award will be given to the organization whose project embodies an original and innovative approach to an important development need and holds the greatest promise for benefiting the marginalized and disadvantaged in developing and transition countries. In addition, the World Bank-administered Japan Social Development Fund (JSDF) team will review the suitability of the proposal winning the First Prize for a much larger grant of up to US$ 200,000 under the auspices of the JSDF. The runner-up project will receive a grant of US$ 5,000.

Eligibility Criteria:

Open to all development projects in Africa, Asia, Commonwealth of Independent States, Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean, Pacific Islands, and the transition economies of Eastern Europe and Central Asia

The project must be managed by a non-governmental organization with its headquarters in a country in one of the above regions

The project must have started before June 01, 2010

Applicants from previous years (except winners) may reapply, but they must update the application to include new aspects of the project

Winners from previous years cannot submit an application for the subsequent three years

APPLICATION DEADLINE:  January 31, 2012 (Indian Standard Time 6:00 PM)

For more information, visit this link.

No comments:

Post a Comment